Language Selection

English French German Italian Portuguese Spanish

Total solar eclipse on August 1, 2008, in Northern Hemisphere

Filed under
Sci/Tech

A total solar eclipse will begin in northern Canada early Friday morning, and sweep through Greenland, the Arctic, Russia, Mongolia, and China. A partial solar eclipse will be seen in the northeastern parts of North America, and much of Europe and Asia.

The beginning of the general eclipse (when the Moon partially hides the Sun from the Earth) will occur in far-northern Canada early in the morning at about 8:04 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), or 4:04 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).

The total solar eclipse will begin at about 9:21 a.m. GMT, or 5:21 a.m. EDT.

The central eclipse will begin at 9:24 a.m. GMT, and the greatest part of the eclipse will begin at 10:21 a.m. GMT.

The Sun will be completely hidden by the Moon for 2 minutes, 27 seconds (the maximum duration at the greatest eclipse point) beginning at 10:21:08 GMT, in northern Russia.

More Here




More in Tux Machines

Games: Singularity: Escalation, ASTROKILL and More

Red Hat News

Android Leftovers

PC-MOS/386 is the latest obsolete operating system to open source on Github

PC-MOS/386 was first announced by The Software Link in 1986 and was released in early 1987. It was capable of working on any x86 computer (though the Intel 80386 was its target market). However, some later chips became incompatible because they didn't have the necessary memory management unit. It had a dedicated following but also contained a couple of design flaws that made it slow and/or expensive to run. Add to that the fact it had a Y2K bug that manifested on 31 July 2012, after which any files created wouldn't work, and it's not surprising that it didn't become the gold standard. The last copyright date listed is 1992, although some users have claimed to be using it far longer. Read more